400 miles…

The sky is lit like a Spanish dancer’s frock, and reflecting reds, oranges, pinks in the Mississagi river and I still have 200km to go. Cruising along the Trans Canada through exotic sounding places with names that sound somewhat out of place – Spanish, Espanola, Dufour (I was thinking Darfur!), Blind River.
After a stop to feed the thirsty monster that is my car (I fear this may be a rather expensive road trip) the road finally ended for the day in Sault Ste. Marie. This is actually a short day of driving. It was a total of 670km and I have almost 1000km to do tomorrow!
I got in a little late today so I’m not going to bang on too much on this part of the journey.  It is however, something I’ve been meaning to do since I was a child. I distinctly remember dreaming about it as I sat on the top bunk of my room watching the stars (no, not a couple of years ago :P). As much as I have little or no expectations of the trip, I’m certainly looking forward to whatever randomness appears along the way. I’ve already chatted with lovely people (very helpful and super stoked MEC employees, and a very helpful proprietor of the motel I’m staying in this evening), and I have no doubt that there will be more. Having said that, I’m not looking forward to the US border crossing tomorrow. Not my favourite place I have to say.

More to come here though. I was thinking of little lists of things to bring on a road trip to mix in with the stories… Hopefully the stories will be good ones nothing too weird!

Leave a Reply

